When it rains, it pours…. Bye, 2016!

Happy New Year, everyone!
皆さん、明けましておめでとう!
Api Nyuu Ier, evribadi!

This past year… man, what a crazy one it was for me. A lot of things happened that made it rather difficult, especially . I got so busy with work and school that I had to put my Fiverr account on vacation mode. (Useful feature…) Of course, that means I was making no money from my writing, which I felt sad about… But I was too busy to do anything about it.

It was one course in particular that was making me feel so busy/crazy. Some academic writing thing. Anyway, I am done with that course. I think… I hope… It’s one of those courses that I don’t really care about getting a good grade in… just want to pass!

And then… my laptop died. I asked a Deaf guy who’s very good with computers to see if he could fix it. Nope. It’s dead… Gone for good. Just when I finally got a holiday, and have an essay to write.

laptopdied

This… is why I haven’t been blogging lately, guys…

But… with the help of my father, I was able to buy another one. So, back to writing my blogs, my stories (good thing I saved my documents in online clouds to make sure I don’t lose them…), and my essay.

I set up my new laptop. I think I’ll call him… 洸二(こうじ、Kouji)Hopefully this coming year, I’ll have more time to do creative writing… I miss it. My author friend told me about a bit of freeware called FocusWriter that helps provides a distraction-free writing environment. I downloaded it, and customised the theme:

screenshot-1

Got the background image from a Deviant Artist. Poliwag was a favourite Pokémon of mine as a child, and I thought this was a very serene backdrop for my writing. I plan to make time to make use of it!!! Robyn, my dear friend, did you know about program?

Anyway, I’m back. Nothing particularly language-related today, but don’t worry. Next week, it’s business as usual!

This entry was posted in Non-language issues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When it rains, it pours…. Bye, 2016!

  1. Robyn says:

    I’ve never heard of FocusWriter specifically, but I do know of apps/programs that help create distraction-free environments.

    Glad you got back into the computer game. It’s good to see you blogging again!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

