Ever heard of Duolingo?

Last week, a former classmate and his wife teamed up tell me about Duolingo, a website and phone app for language learning. The app, he said, has a bit less functionality than the website, but is also quite good. It was quite a week, and I was very distracted by school and work, so I told him, “Give me till weekend.”

Well, I am a man of my word. This morning, when I woke up, I picked up my phone and went straight to Google Play and downloaded the app. I chose Hebrew as my language to learn and had at it.

duolingo

It started with a short test to see how much I already knew:

The verdict: I’m level 2!

After such a long break from learning Hebrew, it was great to be back, and have a way to do it that wasn’t dependent on me reading and memorising stuff… This automated system is very fun!

I spent some more time on it and went up to level 3!

Then, I went on to Spanish:

screenshot_2016-11-06-08-04-36

Level 2, baby!

So far, it works by having you read/listen, and then checking understanding. I definitely enjoyed myself this morning. I’ll keep using this app as the days go by;.I can use it on the commute to/from work/school, or whenever I have a little time.

It doesn’t have Japanese yet, unfortunately, but my former classmate says it should be up next year. Looking forward to it!

Have you tried Duolingo yet?

This entry was posted in Español, עברית and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ever heard of Duolingo?

  1. Pingback: Follow-up to previous posts: Mercury and Duolingo | Mr Multilingual

Leave a Reply

