Huh. Didn’t know that….

Consider me behind the times, but I only recently found out the difference between an emoticon and an emoji, thinking they were synonyms. I also mistakenly thought that they both had their origins in the word “emotion”. But I was wrong!

A quick Google search provided this surprising result:

Google Search

In order to salvage at least some of pride, I can say that I had thought that maybe “ji” (字, which also means “character”) was of Japanese origin and “emo” came from “emotion”, but I didn’t realise the whole thing was Japanese!

It’s cool to learn something new.

「イモージ」じゃなくて、「絵文字」なんて・・・。知らなかった・・・。

This entry was posted in English, 日本語 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

