Spanking Good Fun!

I’m not precisely sure how this even came into my head. I think I was talking to a friend about Dragon Ball Z. In any case, I’ve wanted to write this blog post since then (about… a couple weeks, I think) and now I’m finally doing it!

Do you know the Playstation 2 game Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi? It’s a very fun game, especially for fans of the TV series, and part of a heritage of games that still provide revenue for those who cash in from the franchise. (After all this time, those voice actors probably still have work in the franchise!)

So, one day, I was wondering what in the world ‘Budokai Tenkaichi’ could mean. So, I did some Googling, and it turns out that it’s based on the Japanese name for a martial arts tournament that was first introduced in Dragon Ball and later resurfaced in Dragon Ball Z: 天下一武道会 (Tenka’ichi Budoukai, Strongest Figher Under the Heavens Martial Arts Tournament).

My search took me to Wikipedia. And it’s there that the real spanking good fun begins.

Funny enough, the name Budokai Tenkaichi is the English name of the game. I wikied the game so I could see what the Japanese name of the game is:

The Wikipedia pages says that the Japanese name of the game is actually ドラゴンボールZ Sparking! (Dragon Ball Z: Sparking!). Strange name, I thought. (And ironic that an English word would be used in the Japanese version and a Japanese phrase in the English version.) But Wikipedia explained that, “The ‘Sparking!’ in the Japanese title references the last lyric found in the chorus of the first opening theme to the Dragon Ball Z anime series, ‘Cha-La Head-Cha-La’, performed by Hironobu Kageyama.” (Wikipedia)

That all looks well. It all checks out. And then, I went to the Japanese version of the article, because you know on the left side of Wikipedia articles, they have a list of available languages that have info on a particular topic. And what I saw made my eyes widen a bit in surprise:

The page title has “Sparking”, but look elsewhere on the page! Spanking! Haha! In fact, it even has it in katakana, スパンキング, so it’s not just an English mistake! Someone is probably pulling a prank. It’s been there for a while and no one has fixed it yet! (Let’s hope that’s still true for the reader if he/she decides to visit the page!)

It’s definitely Sparking, though. The cover from the Japanese video game is proof of that:

Whoever did that, hats off to you for giving me a spanking good laugh! Thank you!

This entry was posted in 日本語 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

