Random words of advice

If you ever get transcription work, do not let people pay you chump change. It may sound easy, may look easy, but it’s hard work. It takes time, especially to do it right, and believe me when I say I’ve seen sloppy transcription done wrong, and even that took a long time.

I’ve done transcription for both audio (spoken language, of course) and video (signed language), and personally I find signed language easier. I used ELAN, which allows you to slow it down, and seeing it makes it much simpler to me than having to listen over and over…

Yeah. So, don’t allow anyone to underpay you for transcription. Unless you’re desperate for money. In any case, be prepared for some serious work.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Language Issues and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

