My recent experience with JSL

Lately, I have come to realise that there are a lot more synonyms in JSL than I thought. I think I told you guys that I was taught two variations of “pharmacy” that I never knew. Well, there are some other new signs I learnt, and they told me something new about JSL. It turns out that, in terms of vocabulary, it was more in common with ASL than I previously thought.

The signs for “birthday” and some other stuff that I do not recall right now, that I thought were not used in ASL, are actually used in JSL as synonyms of the signs that I knew. The sign for “example”, though, has diverged in JSL from the ASL-derived sign for “show”, which is used in both instances in ASL. But wow. I didn’t know how much of my assumptions I’d have to unlearn. And I’m sure the process is nowhere near complete yet.

This entry was posted in JSL. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

