But what to do with the pain?

Last week, I was reminded quite forcefully how horrible my JSL is. Hearing non-signers often seem so impressed with my signing, but if they only knew how much I struggle to catch what’s happening around me in a fluent conversation, and how much I miss. And it’s a lot, believe me. It feels like I miss most of a conversation.

But now, the question is, what should I do with the pain of that realisation? I think I know the answer. But that doesn’t make it easy, I must tell you.

The good news? I learnt a lot of signs. I’m going to try to be happy with the fact that I know more JSL, Hebrew, and Japanese than the average Jamaican person, especially considering I’ve never been immersed in any of those cultures.

Happy, but not satisfied to stay where I am. Never.

This entry was posted in JSL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to But what to do with the pain?

  1. Michal says:

    I think we have a misconception in American culture that we are supposed to get things right the first time around, and we forget that life is a learning process. Hence, I think it’s GOOD that you aren’t satisfied with your current fluency. We’re at our best when we’re stretching ourselves and growing. Keep growing! Keep learning!

    Like

  2. hearingless says:

    Its just a learning process to not know whats going on. Its totally normal and you can come over it. It just takes some practice. I have realized how different people sign. The same sign and movement yes, but with there hands look or the way the do it its slightly different. Something i tell my students is to just keep practicing and pick out the words you do know. Follow the context of what you saw that was said. You dont need to see every word to know whats happening. ^-^

    Like

Leave a Reply

