One Love: Jamaican Blogger Tag

If I didn’t feel like being a good boy and following the rules, I’d title this post “Yaadi me se!” (“Jamaican, I say!” Yeah, that seems like a good translation… Or less literally “Jamaican and proud!”)

I don’t normally do tags, and I wasn’t sure about doing it since it’s sort of off topic for my blog, but I decided I might as well. It was started here, and flowed around Jamaica’s cyberspace until it got to my friend Robyn, who “tagged” me.

The rules for this tag:
·         Title your post “One Love: Jamaican Blogger Tag”
·         Link back to the blogger who tagged you ( you may add a brief definition of what a tag is if you for the benefit of your readers)
·          Copy and paste the rules at the beginning of your tag.
·         Copy and paste the questions as well so readers know what’s going on.
·         Answer the questions (No duh!)
·         Tag seven other (untagged) Jamaican bloggers to continue the trend. Kinda forces you to make friends, no?
The questions are as follows:
  1.  Why did you give your blog its name? (If it is named directly after you, try and make your answer interesting. eg: Did you feel nervous at all about putting your name out there? Did you just lack creativity at the time?)
  2. Why did you start blogging and why do you blog now?
  3. Do you think being Jamaican influences your blogging style?
  4. What do you think about the increase in bloggers in Jamaica?
  5. What is your favourite thing about being Jamaican?
  6. Ackee and saltfish or “ (mackerel) run down”?
  7. Stew peas or stew chicken?
  8. Tastee Patties, Juici Beef Patties or Mother’s?
  9. Pantucky or KFC?
  10. What do you hope to be the future of blogging in Jamaica?

So, here goes:

1. Why did you give your blog its name?
Well, this one’s kind of obvious. Heh. I wanted a name that expresses the concept behind the blog, and yet was original. Multilingualism tends to be associated with women, I think, so I decided to express my masculinity while at the same time expressing my love for languages.

2. Why did you start blogging and why do you blog now?
I love to write. At first, I started blogging as a way to express my Christian faith, which resulted in my first blog, Music of the Heartstrings. (Bet you didn’t know about that one, huh?) I lost touch with that one, though. With learning JSL and Japanese, I was having a few tiny adventures that I’d have loved the motivation to write about. That, and my friend Michal‘s encouragement got me to start this blog, which I still love to write. I get to be, as Robyn has said, an advocate for what I believe about language and cultural issues to the few eyes that read my blog posts.

3. Do you think being Jamaican influences your blogging style?
Honestly, I never thought about this before. It’s hard to say. It’s a sad thing, but most of my reading has been of non-Jamaican works, so I think my style of writing (and this blogging) has been influenced by them. That being said, I am Jamaican, and a product of Jamaica, so that definitely has an effect on my style. It’s just hard to pinpoint what that effect is.

4. What do you think about the increase in bloggers in Jamaica?
That is very cool! We’re truly moving from the idea that we Jamaicans cannot have a voice, have a presence on the world stage. With our success in music, the Olympics and other areas, we are learning that we can be and are a force to be reckoned with. To me, it’s showing that we’re learning to see ourselves as more than just entertainment for white people. And that’s an awesome thing.

5. What is your favourite thing about being Jamaican?
Why must you ask such hard questions?! It’s not easy to pinpoint one thing. This place, it’s people, it’s cultural richness… How many countries in the world can say an Abrahamic faith was born there? I think I just love being Jamaican, being able to say that this place, it’s people, it’s culture… are all mine, and yet there’s so much I have to learn about it all.

6. Ackee and saltfish or “(mackerel) run down”?
Haha, neither. As a vegan, I don’t eat saltish or mackerel (“mackerel run down” is mackerel stewed in coconut milk). I love ackee, though, and I was surprised how good it tastes by itself, or with other things like broad beans, mushrooms, tomato…. I bet you were really interested in what I’d put here, huh, Robyn?

7. Stew peas or stew chicken?
Again, I’m vegan, so… stew peas. (The kind without pork or oxtail, of course!) I love it with plantain! It gives it a nice little sweetness.

8. Tastee Patties, Juici Beef Patties or Mother’s?
I haven’t had Mother’s in years… Hmm… I don’t know if I prefer Tastee or Juici… But I had Juici’s fries at Half-Way-Tree once… I love how much you get in there! Wow!

9. Pantucky or KFC?
Back when I was a meat-eater, I began to realise that I don’t really like KFC. Too oily. So, I guess it’d be Pantucky! (Chicken cooked in a barbecue-like drum at the side of the road.) Of course, now, I don’t eat either. It’s typical that a Jamaican blogger tag would have so many questions about food. 🙂

10. What do you hope to be the future of blogging in Jamaica?
I hope that Jamaicans become a force to be reckoned with and recognised. It’s sort of annoying that Jamaican (and generally Caribbean) writers usually are not successful or recognised unless they live abroad. Blogs allow yaadi we stil liv a yaad* to write and have their work enter the homes of people all over the world with a few clicks. Hopefully, we can break out into more fields, show that we Jamaicans are capable of so much more.

That’s it! I hope that was educational! It was definitely fun.

And so here are the people I am tagging:

  1. CaptiveBridge, whose blog expresses the random joys and non-joys and being a foreign-educated Jamaican
  2. lafemmededieu (the woman of God), a friend who blogs about her journey in being and in maintaining the faith that she is just that
  3. WhyLori, another blog with a particular focus on answering the question of “Why?” she does what she does in spite of the grace that gives her the chance to do otherwise
  4. The Life of a Faith Led Child, a blog whose title says it all.

Man, most of the Jamaican bloggers I know are Christian, huh? Interesting. Sorry, just 4, not 7…

*Jamaicans who still live in Jamaica

This entry was posted in Just blog stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One Love: Jamaican Blogger Tag

  1. Jodi Red says:

    This is a set up! Now, who am I gonna tag…ai! Senor Multilingual I shall get you for this!

    Like

  2. Prolly won’t do this as I know no other active jamaican bloggers. Just you.

    Like

  3. read.robin says:

    Really? I had no idea multilingualism was associated with being female. Interesting. I am amused at the way you skipped neatly around all the food questions, haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

