Dreidel, dreidel

So! Thanks to my dear friend Michal, I got me my first dreidel.

A dreidel, or svivon (סְבִיבוֹן) in Hebrew

A dreidel, or svivon (סְבִיבוֹן) in Hebrew

I’ve wanted one for quite some time, and now, I’ve got one. 🙂 For all those who don’t know, a dreidel is a traditional Hanukkah top that’s used to play a game that is often played for delicious stakes known as gelt. It, of course, has Hebrew letters on it. Mine has the words that the letters spell out, too:

נס גדול היה שם
nes gadol haya sham
a great miracle happened there

“There”, of course, being Israel, the setting of the miracle of the Hannukah story. I haven’t really got it to spin the way I want it to yet. Hehe. But I will!

תודה, חברה! היה כיף מאוד!׳

This entry was posted in עברית and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dreidel, dreidel

  1. Yaelle says:

    Awww… I can’t believe it! She beat me to it! Kol ha-kavod, Michal!
    I’ve been looking for a dreidel for you for some time now, and couldn’t find a good old fashioned one. They’ve been getting more and more sophisticated each year – now the simplest one available sings Hannuka songs and lights up the room like a disco when you spin it. I don’t like those, it’s not very fitting with the holiday’s spirit (rather, seems to me to be drawing from Christmasy influences).
    And today I finally found one! I was so happy, I was going to send it tomorrow morning, and then I read this “disappointing” post 😉
    So really – kol ha-kavod, Michal, and I’m happy for you that you can start practicing. And next time you want something Israeli / Hebrew – please don’t hesitate to ask!
    Maybe I’ll send you the dreidel anyway? After all – mine says נס גדול היה פה…

    Happy Hannuka, everyone! 🙂

    /Yaelle

    Like

  2. read.robin says:

    Dreidel! You have to show it to me, and teach me that game. That’s such a cool “Christmas” present ^_~

    Like

Leave a Reply

