And what does that mean?

One day, some friends and I were talking and a friend of one of my friends’ friend (I think… memory fails; I think one of the friends said hello to him…) came by and he had Asian writing on his shirt sleeve. Thank God I have a phone that can take pictures! I didn’t miss the opportunity.

So, I finally remembered to check what it means. Courtesy of Kanji-a-Day.com, the word is おに (oni), the word for ‘ghost’ or ‘devil’. And, thanks to Wikipedia, for those who need a bit more cultural info:

Oni (鬼) are creatures from Japanese folklore, variously translated as demons, devils, ogres or trolls. They are popular characters in Japanese art, literature and theatre.

Embrace opportunities to learn! 🙂

This entry was posted in 日本語 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

