You find Hebrew in the strangest places

 

אופנימון

The Digimon franchise might be the last place you’d expect to find a Hebrew word, but I did learn one because if it.

 

This is Ophanimon (aka オファニモン). I first saw her in the fourth season of Digimon, called Digimon Frontier, along with her two friends Cherubimon and Seraphimon. All three of them are angel Digimon. I knew that cherub (כְרוּב) and seraph (שָׂרָף) came from Hebrew words for angels. But I didn’t know about Ophanimon’s name.

But then, the Digimon Wikia page referred me to the Ophanim (אוֹפָנִים), the ‘wheels’ I read about in the book of Ezekiel. I’d already learnt the word אופניים (ofanayim), bicycle, but I had no idea that the singular form was אופן (ofan). And then, I realised that the ‘ayim’ plural ending has a different meaning that the simple ‘im’ plural ending (a pair of things, vs general plural). I learnt all of that because of a Digimon character!

It’s amazing how widespread the language is, especially for one that was dead for centuries and has only been alive again for little more than a century.

This entry was posted in עברית and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You find Hebrew in the strangest places

  1. read.robin says:

    You watched Digimon?! You are such a nerd ;P

    I love it when I come across Korean unexpectedly; I get this happy, connected feeling. ^_^

    Like

  2. Pingback: Hebrew pops up everywhere! | Mr Multilingual

Leave a Reply

