Why does my brain do that?!

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this many times, but I sign while I talk. Often. There’s this one girl at church that hates it because she doesn’t understand at all and sometimes I end up signing instead of talking.

But that’s not really what I want to talk about. Sometimes, my brain picks random languages to express my thoughts. I remember one time I was with a friend who signs and while I voiced the Japanese word kawaii (可愛い, cute) I signed ‘cute’. And then sometimes, I answer people in Japanese. Like once, after a friend did something for me, I said arigatou (ありがとう, thanks) and then had to explain. And then, of course, I code switch between English and Patwa a lot, but that’s to be expected.

I’m kind of sad that I don’t randomly spout Hebrew… But there was this one time that Hebrew slipped out. I was watching TV and then I said ze omoshiroi (זה 面白い, this is interesting). But the thing is it was Hebranese!

But I want to know why my brain does that. Why does my brain pick a random language sometimes? Very interesting.

~Ken

This entry was posted in JSL, Patwa, 日本語, עברית and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why does my brain do that?!

  1. read.robin says:

    I do that too! I will listen in English, think in Korean and answer in Spanish, lol. xD

    I think the longer you study something the more natural it feels. And if languages are all about expression, then the more immersed you are in one, the more you call on it to express your thoughts. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

