I’m an interpreter! Kinda…

On the way home, I met a Deaf friend. We got on the bus and I was slightly annoyed ’cause I had to stand and I was holding my guitar, so signing would be a challenge.

But then, he decided to start talking to this (very pretty, I must say) lady. Well, not talking; he signed to her that she was beautiful, but she didn’t understand. I offered to interpret and that’s what I did for most of the night. I basically interpreted his flirting. Haha!

It was very fun! She’s Seventh-day Adventist, so he teased her about not eating pork and he said he didn’t mind eating pork, even though (he raised this point, by the way) if you poor rum on pig meat, worms will crawl out. At the end of it all, he said she was sweet.

That was my first real interpreting session. Hehe. Well, I’m sure I’ve done it before, but that was one-sentence, two-sentence stuff. I’m still upset that I didn’t understand some signs. He switched to Signed English, which is annoying. (Sometimes Deaf use Signed English if they realise you’re not very good at JSL, but I didn’t learn Signed English, so sometimes it confuses me more.) But I did learn a new sign (Valentine) and I was upset that that I didn’t recognise the sign for ‘sugar’; it was done differently than I am used to.

One of my dreams is to be good enough to be a JSL interpreter. Every moment I practise brings me that much closer to that goal. And dreams come true don’t they?

This entry was posted in JSL and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m an interpreter! Kinda…

  1. read.robin says:

    That’s so cool! You’re really motivating me to buckle down with my Korean. It must have been a fun experience. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

