First entry!

Hello, I’m Ken!

הי! שמי קְמוּאֵל

こんにちは、僕は剣(ケン)言う。

Eluo, mi niem Ken.

Welcome to my blog. I’m a Jamaican in his final year of university and I love learning languages, especially languages that others might not be so interested in.

So, what languages am I learning? I started Japanese in 2006 and fell in love with it. Last year, I started Jamaican Sign Language (JSL), a dialect of American Sign Language (ASL) (though I couldn’t put a greeting in JSL above because… I don’t have a webcam/camera). And then, last summer, I started learning Hebrew, too!

So, what’s my heart language? The language I think in, dream in, yell out in when a buck my toe? Somewhat complicated question. The only way I can think to answer that is to say that it’s a blend of English and Jamaican Creole/Jamaican Patwa.

I believe that through learning a language, you open your mind to another way of viewing the world. All of these languages have become immensely important to me. And hopefully, you will see why as you read and enjoy!

Here’s to fun and multilingualism!

~Ken

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Language Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

