Fingerspelling and me

I have a love-hate relationship with the JSL manual alphabet. Sometimes, there’s more hate than love, to be honest.

Recently, I found out something that has radically changed my perception of fingerspelling. My friend told me that hearing people tend to spell every single letter in a word, while Deaf people (including CODAs) dropping letters; shorthand/rapid fingerspelling.

This revelation is important for more than one reason:

  1. I used to think that, in my reading/reception of fingerspelling, I missed letters solely because of my inability to pick up the letters sent out at Deaf speed. Now, I see that’s not the case.
  2. Over the years, I found myself doing exactly that; skipping/dropping letters. And I almost always start over when I’m spelling. Now, I see that I don’t have to. It’s part of how people spell in JSL.

This info will be useful not only in my conversations with Deaf people, but also in my interpreting. I really wish these things had been taught to be during my training to be an interpreter. Jamaica has a long way to go in terms of proper JSL teaching and JSL interpreter training.

About Ken Kwame

Jamaican writer and aspiring fantasy novelist.
This entry was posted in Interpreting, JSL, Languages and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fingerspelling and me

  1. Robyn says:

    Then maybe you should consider teaching one day – or setting up a school. People who are passionate about a subject tend to teach it well.

    Like

  2. This is so cool! I only know ASL and BSL but I’ve definitely noticed some of the same habits w/ fingerspelling. There’s probably some interesting comparisons to be made between that and “textspeak” – the way that the crucial letters get drawn out and identified.

    Like

Leave a comment